Old, schmold, no big deal

I got the latest edition of the AARP Bulletin in the mail today.

Yessir, I did and it even was addressed to me. I’m a card-carrying member.

Crack. Me. Up.

Not only that, I just read my latest edition of the AARP Bulletin. Did you know that the bathroom can be one of the most dangerous rooms in your home? Sheesh, no news flash here. Whenever you walk by a bathroom and notice the door’s closed and the light’s out, it’s one of the most dangerous rooms in your home. In the whole world, for that matter.

What I did learn from this issue, however, was how to have “Fun on a Fixed Income.” And I also noted there are at least three different makers of little emergency beepers that you hang around your neck. I’m going to get me one, press the button and scream, “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!”  Just to hear the sirens. Now that’s what I call good, clean fun on a fixed income.

You know that TV commerical for the latest Grecian Formula (did the Greeks invent blueish hair?), with a newscaster reporting the discovery of “the last gray-haired man on the planet”? Well, I’m that man. And I’m going to stay that way. I don’t give a hoot that I’m getting older. Not even that I’m at an age when you start saying “yessir” “get me one” and “don’t give a hoot.”

All my icons are older. Robert Redford is 74. Burt Reynolds is 76. Mick Jagger is 68. Paul McCartney is 69. Ringo Starr’s 71 (well, he’s only an icon by association). Carole King is 68. James Taylor’s 62. Cat Stevens is Yusuf Islam.

So, what’s the problem. No sense fighting it, might as well enjoy it. Gray is the new black, people.

Leave a Reply

